
Marketing and Publicity for Books and Brands (PART ONE)
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Marketing and Publicity for Books and Brands (PART ONE)
58 students
2 courses
186 students
8 courses
Course Description
Now you have set up your marketing and publicity teams. And you have worked on a few books to some degree of success. How do you do more? The key is to think about what is happening now; how will it affect things in the future; what do you know about the future that you can use to your advantage? We know the pandemic has changed marketing and publicity, and these changes are likely to stay.
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Questions about Marketing and Publicity for Books and Brands (PART ONE)?
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Marketing and publicity have become so much more important to book marketing these past years, especially since people these days are digital natives: those who have grown up with technology and use social media as part of their lives. With the rise of competitive sources of entertainment, especially streaming services, marketing and publicity is essential to create buzz and awareness of your books.
Optional Assignment (PART ONE)
This assignment will build on key elements of the first video – specifically, identifying the audience, identifying and understanding the audience, positioning a book, reaching the audience, and connecting and engaging with the audience.
Imagine that you are the head of the marketing department of a publishing house (reporting to the president of a major division) and your current department is organized around a traditional publishing model and long-standing customer base. You see the shift in reader tastes and new trends in consumer behavior. Your publishing house will release new books that are sure to appeal to a wider range of new readers. As part of the conversion, you will need to utilize additional resources and tools to identify new readers, generate new copy and keywords, market and advertise to the audience, and engage with them.
Prepare a memo to your team (no more than 2 pages), identifying how you propose to transition your department organizationally and functionally, to focus on this new customer segment. Your memo must include a list of 3 titles targeting the market, goals, timetable, process outline (specifically how you would engage a new audience to drive awareness and sales of the new titles), resource allocation (anticipated investments/savings, simple P&L projections), as well as your supporting rationale and metrics you will employ to gauge success. Be specific with how you intend to execute change.
Prepare a brief (5-minute) overview of your proposal that can be shared and discussed at your next department meeting (PowerPoint or some form of visuals are always helpful). Presentations should be summarized versions of your memo and should NOT exceed five minutes.
A/B TestsCreating 2 versions of a digital asset to see which one users respond to better. Examples of assets include a landing page, display ad, marketing email, and social post. In an A/B test, half of your audience automatically receives “version A” and half receives “version B.” The performance of each version is based on conversion rate goals such as the percentage of people who click on a link, complete a form, or make a purchase.Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Ad Copy
The words in your advertising messages to customers. Ad copy can be the headline of a display ad, the subject line of a marketing email, the call to action (CTA) of a Facebook ad, or the script of a video or TV spot. Ad copy is distinguished from ad design elements such as photography and illustration, although copy and design should always work together as a whole.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Ad Network
A service that offers online ad space for sale to advertisers. This space can represent inventory from hundreds and thousands of websites. A general rule is that some inventory is more valuable than others, so it costs advertisers more. Think of buying a TV ad placement during “the big game” versus during a mop infomercial at 3 am. Depending on the ad network, the payment structure may be based on cost per thousand impressions (CPM), cost per click (CPC), or cost per acquisition (CPA).
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Analytics
What I sometimes refer to as the “eyes” of inbound marketing, analytics is essentially the discovery and communication of meaningful patterns in data. When referred to in the context of marketing, it’s looking at the data of one’s initiatives, analyzing the trends, and developing actionable insights to make better informed marketing decisions. Hubspot: The Ultimate Dictionary of Marketing Terms You Should Know
Ad Copy
The words in your advertising messages to customers. Ad copy can be the headline of a display ad, the subject line of a marketing email, the call to action (CTA) of a Facebook ad, or the script of a video or TV spot. Ad copy is distinguished from ad design elements such as photography and illustration, although copy and design should always work together as a whole
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Ad Network
A service that offers online ad space for sale to advertisers. This space can represent inventory from hundreds and thousands of websites. A general rule is that some inventory is more valuable than others, so it costs advertisers more. Think of buying a TV ad placement during “the big game” versus during a mop infomercial at 3 am. Depending on the ad network, the payment structure may be based on cost per thousand impressions (CPM), cost per click (CPC), or cost per acquisition (CPA).
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Audience Buying
Using anonymized aggregated data to inform their decision-making, marketers can deliver relevant advertising directly to custom audience segments like “new parents” or “in-market car shoppers,” wherever and whenever they are watching.
The bottom-line impact: By thinking beyond traditional demos, and opening up buying to all audiences, marketers can better engage their most likely current — and future — customers and unlock access to consumers
MediaPost
Advertising Budget
The money a company puts toward promoting its products and services to its target audiences. An advertising budget typically spans the cost of paid media, photography, printing, mailing, and the support of advertising professionals. Some businesses set their advertising budget based on a percentage of sales. Whatever your method, keep your return on investment (ROI) in mind. Any vendor should be able to give you a clear idea of what you should expect in return for the expense.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Affiliate Marketing
Marketing based on a relationship between an online advertiser and website publishers where the advertiser pays for leads or revenue that comes from the publishers’ sites. It’s a form of value sharing or commission sharing. Partnering with affiliates extends your advertising reach and increases your relevance with target audiences for a limited investment. You only “pay for performance.” Bloggers can make great affiliates.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Audience Segmentation
A marketing strategy based on identifying subgroups within the target audience in order to deliver more tailored messaging for stronger connections. The subgroups can be based on demographics such as geographic location, gender identity, age, ethnicity, income, or level of formal education. Subgroups can also be based on behavior such as purchases made in the past. Psychographics come into play when you have access to insights about your audience’s values, attitudes, and beliefs.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Author Track
Sales of the author’s previous books. Retailers consider how well the previous books performed when considering the next book by the author. A strong performing previous book could result in strong placement at retail, whereas a poor performance on the previous book could result in a retailer not taking the next book.
Brand
The experience a customer has with a product or service that makes it different from others in the same category. More than just a name, a brand is where features, benefits, and customer perceptions meet. Successful brands have a unique identity, image, and emotional connection with their customers. It’s why we choose a brand over another every day. When thinking about book publishing, the publisher is a brand, its imprints are each brands, and the book or series can be considered a brand, and the author can be considered a brand.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Call to Action (CTA)
What you want your target audience to do after receiving your marketing message. The call to action (CTA) clearly articulates the next step: learn more, contact us, shop now, follow us, sign up. A/B testing offers a great opportunity to experiment with different calls to action and optimize your messages with the CTAs that get the best audience response.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Click-Through Rate (CTR)
The percentage of users who click on the link in your digital marketing message after seeing it. For example, if 10,000 users see your display ad, and 10 users click on it, your click-through rate (CTR) is 0.001 or 0.1%. The same math applies to links within marketing emails, landing pages, and social media. CTR is a key success metric for an advertising campaign.Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Content Marketing
Content marketing is a strategy that businesses use to attract, engage, and retain customers by creating and sharing relevant articles, videos, podcasts, and other media. This approach establishes expertise, promotes brand awareness, and keeps your business top of mind when it’s time to buy what you sell.
Content Management System (CMS)
A web application designed to make it easy for non-technical users to create, edit, and manage a website. Helps users with content editing and more "behind-the-scenes" work like making content searchable and indexable, automatically generating navigation elements, keeping track of users and permissions, and more.Hubspot: The Ultimate Dictionary of Marketing Terms You Should Know
Conversion Rate
The percentage of user actions taken after total clicks on a display ad or other digital asset. Your marketing strategy defines your actions, which commonly include clicking on a second link, downloading an asset such as a B2B (business-to-business) white paper, or signing up to receive special retail offers. The formula is: clicks / actions = conversion rate. The higher your conversion, the more successful your campaign.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Cost Per Acquisition (CPA)
Cost Per Click (CPC)
A fee that a website publisher charges to serve your display ads on its site. Instead of paying for your ads to simply show up, you only pay when the audience interacts with them. Google is a major publisher of cost-per-click (CPC) ads, and it contracts with other publishers to distribute them to other sites, too.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Cost Per Thousand (CPM)
Cost per thousand impressions of an online ad. When an ad is served to a user, it’s counted as an impression. If an ad network charges you $1,000 for delivering 1 million impressions, your CPM is $1. A CPM model can be a good strategy if your campaign goal is to raise awareness of your brand. If your campaign goal is to increase user interaction with your brand or prompt users to take a specific action such as signing up for a loyalty program, a cost-per-click (CPC) model may be a better choice.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Customer Relationship Management (CRM)
The practice of customer relationship management (CRM). The goals of CRM are to retain current customers, increase their spending, and convert prospects into new customers. CRM technology is used to manage information such as a summary of each consumer interaction, indicators of intent to purchase, and purchase history. Analytics are also used to provide real-time insight into cross-sell and upsell opportunities at the individual customer level. A database of email newsletter subscribers is an example of a very simple CRM tool, especially when a publisher sells their products directly to consumers.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Customer Data Platform (CDP)
A customer data platform (CDP) is a central location for customer data from a variety of sources. It aggregates and organizes that data to create a single customer profile that can be used to optimize marketing and customer experience initiatives. This may include data from the company’s website, email service providers, and social media channels.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Data-Driven Marketing
Data-driven marketing is the use of data acquired through customer interactions and third parties to gain insight on customer motivations, preferences and behaviors. Data-driven insights enable organizations to enhance and personalize the customer experience.
Gartner
Earned Media
Earned media describes the attention you receive from sources that you do not control. This includes websites, review sites, media outlets, and blogs mentioning your brand. While these mentions are valuable for readers to discover, word-of-mouth mentions from friends or acquaintances can sometimes be more beneficial when trying to convert a consumer into a customer.
Earned media happens when a third-party endorses your brand.
Meltwater
Earned media, or earned content, is any material written about you or your business that you haven't paid for or created yourself. Although this type of media is always published by a third party, there are ways marketers can position themselves for earned media opportunities.
https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/what-is-earned-media-faqs
Editorial Calendar
It's like a road map for content creation, showing you what kind of content to create, what topics to cover, which personas to target, and how often to publish to best support your strategy. Maintaining an editorial calendar will keep you more organized and show you any gaps you may have in your content library. It also helps ensure you're doing the right things for your personas and not going way off-track with the topics you're covering.
Hubspot: The Ultimate Dictionary of Marketing Terms You Should Know
Engagement Rate
A popular social media metric used to describe the amount of interaction— -- lLikes, shares, comments— -- a piece of content or a digital ad receives. Interactions like these tell you that how well your messages are resonating with your fans and followers.
Hubspot: The Ultimate Dictionary of Marketing Terms You Should Know
Google Analytics
A platform that measures and reports on website traffic. It provides information about how people use your website, which includes the most popular content, the time spent on each page, and what devices are used to browse. Google Analytics can be connected to Google Ads to learn which campaigns are driving the most traffic and converting casual visitors into customers. Additionally, the platform offers rich insights about your audience, such as terms they use to search and location data.Mailchimp Marketing GlossaryGeneral Data Protection Regulation –( GDPR)
GDPR can be considered as the world's strongest set of data protection rules, which enhance how people can access information about them and places limits on what organisations can do with personal data. The full text of GDPR is an unwieldy beast, which contains 99 individual articles.
Wired UK
Impression
KeywordA word or phrase in the content of your web pages that matches the words and phrases users are entering into search engines as closely as possible. The idea is to speak the same language as users when they make their search queries so you rank higher in their organic search results based on relevance. Mailchimp.com keywords include: marketing platform, email marketing, landing pages, and automation tools. The keyword is the cornerstone of search engine optimization (SEO).
Mailchimp Marketing GlossaryKeyword
Sometimes referred to as "keyword phrases," keywords are the topics that webpages get indexed for in search results by engines like Google, Yahoo, and Bing.
Picking keywords that you’ll optimize a webpage for is a two-part effort. First, you’ll want to ensure the keyword has significant search volume and is not too difficult to rank for. Then, you’ll want to ensure it aligns with your target audience
Hubspot: The Ultimate Dictionary of Marketing Terms You Should Know
Key Performance Indicators(KPI)
Key performance indicators (KPIs) are quantifiable measures that help businesses evaluate their progress toward achieving important objectives. Although different businesses use different metrics, KPIs are always central to understanding how your company is performing and how you can improve that performance. Examples of KPIs for a digital ad campaign might be clicks, video views, comments.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Lookalike Audience Finder
Mailchimp’s lookalike audience finder is an attribute of postcards and social ads that uses what you already know about your contacts and data from our large audience network to build a lookalike audience. A lookalike audience is made up of people who share interests with your existing contacts but aren’t a part of your audience yet. These people will not be added to your audience unless they opt in or engage with your marketing.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Metadata: Meta Description
A brief summary of what a web page is about in the HTML code of the page. Character counts may vary by search engine, but 160 characters (with spaces) is a good guideline. Search engines consider meta descriptions when ranking your page for relevance to user searches, but it’s not one of the most important factors.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Metadata: Meta Keywords
Words and phrases in the HTML meta keywords tag of a web page. Meta keywords help search engines identify what the page is about and rank its relevance to user searches accordingly. The keywords in your tag should reflect the content of your page. Otherwise, search engines will disregard the meta. In other words, you can’t add keywords to the meta tag to make up for a lack of relevant keywords in the content itself.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Metadata: Meta Tags
HTML code that helps search engines understand, evaluate, and rank web pages. Meta tags include meta description (a summary of the page), meta keywords (words and phrases used in the content of the page), and a canonical URL (the master version of a page).
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Optimization: Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)
The process of improving your site conversion using design techniques, key optimization principles, and testing. It involves creating an experience for your website visitors that will convert them into customers. CRO is most often applied to web page or landing page optimization, but it can also be applied to social media, CTAs, and other parts of your marketing.
Hubspot: The Ultimate Dictionary of Marketing Terms You Should Know
Owned Media
Owned media refers to what is yours. In the conversational Era of social media, where businesses have conceded a lot of space to their audience, it is the only organic channel you still control as a MarCom professional. It encompasses your website, your content resources, your newsletters, and social media accounts.
You can split it into 2 categories:
- The content that you host (website & content resources)
The content that you share (newsletter & social media accounts)
Your website and blog
Your website: This is your most valuable owned media asset. Not only is it a long-term platform on which you have total control over, but it is also where you can directly convert visitors into clients.
Your content: A thorough content marketing strategy is one of the best ways to establish a long-term relationship with your audience and demonstrate your thought-leadership on a given topic. In that sense, blogs, ebooks, and webinars are a direct extension of your brand and expertise.
Paid Media
Paid media is one method by which organizations can promote their content through sponsored social media posts, display ads, paid search results, video ads, pop-ups, and other promoted multimedia. Paid media can be an effective opportunity to expand your brand reach, get more clicks, and generate more traffic.
Ultimately, by sponsoring content, you're able to reach audiences that might not have come across you otherwise.
While content is a fairly general term, it's important to note that there are different types of media that can be leveraged in the process.
https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/earned-owned-paid-media-lead-generation
Pay -Per -Click (PPC)
An online advertising campaign that a company pays for only when users interact with the ads. Instead of paying for your ads to simply show up on a publisher’s website, you pay for user clicks. Pay -per -click (PPC) refers to a type of campaign. Cost per click (CPC) refers to the actual cost: the campaign fee / number of clicks = cost per click. For example, if you pay $1,000 for a campaign that receives 50,000 clicks, your CPC is $0.02.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Retargeting
When targeting relevant keywords, paid search can bump your business ahead of the competition, if you’re ready to pay the price. The higher the demand on a keyword, the higher the price.
Retargeting allows you to retarget visitors once they leave your website. Here's how it works:
- A visitor lands on your website
- The visitor leaves your website
The visitor sees your add on a third-party website and potentially comes back.
Positioning
The image of your product or service that you want members of your target audience to have in their minds. Because first impressions of your brand count, it can be helpful to craft a positioning statement that communicates how your product or service fulfills customer needs. For example, Mailchimp helps small businesses become the brands they want to be with smarter technology built for big things.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Return on Investment (ROI)A calculation of the monetary value of an investment versus its cost. The mathematical formula is: (profit minus cost) / cost. If you made $10,000 from a $1,000 effort, your return on investment (ROI) would be 0.9, or 90%. ROI is often used to evaluate business strategy, including all advertising and marketing efforts. Return on ad spend (ROAS) is a similar metric, but it focuses more on specific tactics, such as an individual ad campaign.Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Search Engine Marketing (SEM)
Paid advertising on a search engine results page (SERP). This is also called paid search. Search engine marketing (SEM) ads are used to drive traffic to websites but can include other calls to action, such as making a phone call or visiting a local store. Keywords in a search query trigger SEM ads. They usually appear at the top of search results and sometimes to the side. Most SEM is pay-per-click (PPC), so you only get charged if someone clicks on the ad.
Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Search Engine Optimization (SEO)
Changes made to the content and structure of a website to improve ranking on a search engine results page (SERP). Search engines recommend search engine optimization (SEO) efforts that benefit both the user and page’s ranking (white hat SEO). These include the use of relevant keywords in headlines (H1) and subheads, “friendly” URLs with keywords rather than strings of numbers, and schema markup to make results richer and more detailed.
Social Media Marketing
Using social media to advertise a brand, products, or services. Social media marketing allows a brand to insert itself into ongoing conversations on channels such as Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram. Best practices for social media marketing include creating interesting content that links back to your website as well as publicly replying to questions and comments. Posts can be organic, meaning you don’t pay anything to “boost” them, or they can be promoted with media dollars.Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Target Audience
The people you want to reach with your marketing efforts. These are the consumers who will be most interested in your products or services—and most likely to convert from leads into customers. Target audiences can be based on demographics (age, gender identity, location), psychographics (aspirations, concerns, values), or behavior (likely to buy online). Target audiences are often broad and varied, so audience segmentation can help deliver a more personalized and effective message.Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Unique Selling Proposition
The reason people should buy your product or services according to your marketing and advertising. In any ad, your unique selling proposition can be summed up as “buy X, and you’ll get Y.” For example: “Buy these sneakers, and you’ll run faster.”Mailchimp Marketing Glossary
Word-of-Mouth Marketing (WOM Marketing)
Person-to-person conversation that promotes a product or service. For example: “Hey, I loved that movie. You should check it out.” Word-of-mouth marketing (WOM marketing) can be organic. A brand can also script and direct it. In social media marketing, influencers are a common type of WOM marketing. A trusted expert or celebrity is paid to talk about their experience with a product or service. Authenticity is essential for WOM marketing to be successful, so it’s not always as positive as other types of marketing messages.
Case Studies in Marketing and Branding:
Resources
Websites and Blogs
Content Marketing Institute https://contentmarketinginstitute.com/
SmartBrief https://www.smartbrief.com/industry/marketing-advertising
Marketing Sherpa https://www.marketingsherpa.com/
Neil Patel https://neilpatel.com/
Seth Godin https://www.sethgodin.com/
Pamela Vaughan https://blog.hubspot.com/marketing/author/pamela-vaughan
Gary Vaynerchuk https://www.garyvaynerchuk.com/
Tools
Google Analytics https://analytics.google.com/analytics/web/
Google Ads https://ads.google.com/home/#!/
SEMrush https://www.semrush.com/
Cision https://www.cision.com/
MailChimp https://mailchimp.com/
Constant Contact https://www.constantcontact.com/
Survey Monkey https://www.surveymonkey.com/
Google Surveys https://surveys.google.com/warm-welcome?dest=%2Fyour-surveys
Facebook Ads Manager https://www.facebook.com/business/tools/ads-manager
Facebook Ads Pixel https://www.facebook.com/business/learn/facebook-ads-pixel
KISS Metrics https://www.kissmetrics.io/
Moz https://moz.com/
Canva https://www.canva.com/
Creatopy https://www.creatopy.com/
Books
Building a StoryBrand: Clarify Your Message So Customers Will Listen by Donald Miller
Conversion Optimization by Khalid Saleh & Ayat Shukairy
Data Science for Business: What You Need to Know about Data Mining and Data-Analytic Thinking by Foster Provost and Tom Fawcett
Epic Content Marketing by Joe Pullizzi
Harvard Business Review’s 10 Must Reads: On Strategic Marketing
Influence, New and Expanded: The Psychology of Persuasion Hardcover by Robert B. Cialdini PhD
Positioning by Al Ries & Jack Trout
The Six Disciplines of Agile Marketing: Proven Practices for More Effective Marketing and Better Business Results by Jim Ewel
Social Media: How to Engage, Share, and Connect by Regina Luttrell
This Is Marketing: You Can't Be Seen Until You Learn to See by Seth Godin